Skip to content

Rare RKO Duotone Daybills.

All the Australian film distributors throughout the 1940's through to the 1970's printed duotone daybills for a great many of their films for whatever reason.

I have been researching this type of daybill for many years but what has remained in my mind is that RKO were very scant in printing duotone daybills up until they ceased operating in the late 1950s. Up until I joined VMPFI was only aware of one duotone RKO daybill and this being Cry Danger. Ves posted a duotone Marchant Joan Of Paris and David posted a The Fallen Sparrow today. This now makes three I am aware of.

Does anyone have any other examples they can post on this thread and if so It would be very appreciated.

Hondo

Comments

• Don't say the word 'rare' - everyone will want to start collecting them!
  • edited June 2015

Apparently this is a quality crowd.

Hondo

• The explanation is easy - RKO daybills were simply too awesome to allow for simplistic duotone designs...
  • CSM said:
    The explanation is easy - RKO daybills were simply too awesome to allow for simplistic duotone designs...

I would like to believe this to be the case but? The Joan Of Paris duotone isn't bad though.

Hondo

• Apart from the previously mentioned Cry Danger ( F. Cunninghame ), Joan Of Paris ( Marchant ) and The Fallen Sparrow ( ? ) RKO duotones, I am now adding Five Came Back ( JNO Evans & Son ) and The Kid From Brooklyn ( ? ). This now makes a title of five, which still isn't many compared to the other major distributors duotone outputs. Joan Of Paris, The Fallen Sparrow and Five Came Back were printed in the 1940's and Cry Danger and The Kid From Brooklyn in the 1950's.  If anybody has any other duotone RKO  titles please post the images here on this thread.